History of INPA

INPA was founded in 2007, following a meeting at the World Physiotherapy 2007 conference in, Vancouver, Canada.  It was formed from a core group of neurologic physiotherapists from Australia, Canada, Netherlands, UK, USA.

Mary Solomon (Canada) led the submission to become an official sub group of World Physiotherapy. INPA was approved as a subgroup of World Physiotherapy at the 17th General Meeting of World Physiotherapy, in Amsterdam (2011).

The World Physiotherapy General Meeting reconfirmed INPA as a subgroup at the 18th World Physiotherapy General Meeting in Singapore (2015), and again at the 19th General Meeting in Geneva (2019) and the 20th General Meeting in Dubai.


Dues were collected for the first time in 2020. INPA hired their first Executive Director (Ingrid duToit) in 2022. At the INPA General Meeting in 2023 the member states voted to approve a new constitution, become incorporated and make the Vestibular and Movement Disorders SIGs a permanent part of the organization.


  • Mary Solomon (Can) INPA President 2007 – 2011
  • Ralph Hammond (UK), INPA President 2011 – 2019
  • Judith Deutsch (USA), INPA President 2019 –

President's Award

The President’s Award  was initiated by Ralph Hammond. It recognizes a member of the association who has made extraordinary contributions to advance neurophysiotherapy.


  • Mariella Graziano – Luxembourg (2019)
  • Elizabeth Cassidy – UK (2021) and Susan Whitney – USA (2021)
  • Tamine Capato – Brazil (2023) and Charles Plishka – USA (2023)

© inpa.world | All rights reserved | Cookie settings | Privacy policy